Banner

Author Topic: To scrape or not to scrape  (Read 305 times)

Offline Kim Hyatt

• View Profile
To scrape or not to scrape
« on: November 18, 2020, 12:49:16 AM »
Hi All. I’m an historical architect/historic preservationist and the title of this thread comes from a question that will probably forever be debated in my world: Should later layers of history be removed to reveal an earlier, or perhaps original condition of an historic building? As it relates to firearms my question is whether it is appropriate to clean and polish a well-worn or beat-up gun to restore a measure of its original luster? I understand how this is sacrilege for historical firearms but what about reproductions of those historic pieces? Should the same arguments apply?

I’ve been considering polishing the brass and rebluing the steel on a tired looking Palmetto 1858 Remington repop that I acquired a couple of months ago, or would that be a mistake? What do you all think? Thanks for your thoughts!

Offline Captainkirk

• Administrator
  • "There's nothing like a nice piece of hickory"-
    • View Profile
Re: To scrape or not to scrape
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 09:08:40 AM »
Kim, Italian 're-pops' are just that; modern reproductions of historical (and valuable) mementos of the past. That being said, there are some rare or old reproductions (e.g. the Gregorelli and Uberti ("GU") repros, and some of the ones that are no longer in production. Those I wouldn't mess with. With respect to 'garden variety' Piettas, etc...totally up to you. They are neither rare nor valuable and altering one to suit your needs is not sacrilege.
"You gonna pull those pistols, or whistle Dixie?"

Offline Kim Hyatt

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2020, 09:34:32 AM »